Generically defined as legumes. It also includes, rice,corn,soy beans,string beans,peas,lentils,mustard, sesame seeds, and poppy seeds. On Passover Jews are forbidden to eat Chametz .( any of the five grains, wheat,barley,oats,spelt, and rye, that come into contact with water for more than eighteen minutes). Ashkenazi  Jews do not eat Kitniyot on Passover because they are concerned that these grains might be mixed with the forbidden grains.

« Back to Glossary Index