תּוֹרָה – “Teaching”. The Five Books of Moses, also called the Pentateuch or the Hebrew Bible. Torah can also refer to the overall body of Jewish religious teachings, encompassing the Tanakh, Jewish law, practice and tradition. Distinctions are often made between the written Torah and the oral law as preserved in the Talmud.

The Five Books are Bereshit, Shemot, Vayikra, Bamidbar and .

« Back to Glossary Index